Skip to main content

How to Manually Allow macOS Permissions

Learn how to manually set up all the permissions needed for Insightful to function correctly on macOS

K
Written by Katarina Dakic

To find out more about macOS permissions and why they are needed for Insightful to function properly, please see the article on MacOS Permissions Required for Insightful.

If you are also interested in learning how to manage macOS permissions remotely and in bulk (for numerous users at once) via configuration profiles, please review our article on Handling macOS Permissions Remotely (MDM & Config Profiles).

Not sure which macOS version you have?

Open the Apple menu and select About This Mac. The window shows the macOS name and version number, for example macOS Ventura 13.7.

If Workpuls was already granted permission before upgrading to macOS 27, the permission may have been reset and needs to be enabled again.

Device Control and Data Access Permission (formerly Accessibility)

Steps to enable Device Control and Data Access Permission (formerly Accessibility):

  1. Click the Apple logo in the top-left corner of your screen and select System Settings.

  2. Click Privacy & Security.

  3. Go to Device Control and Data Access permission.

  4. Add Workpuls - in case Workpuls is not already listed.

    • Click on the plus sign

    • Select Workpuls in the listed apps in the Applications section

  5. Confirm Changes:

    • Ensure that Workpuls is checked in the list of allowed apps. Close the window to save changes.

Automation Permission

This permission is essential for the full functionality of URL capturing.

Steps to Enable Automation Permission

macOS 13 (Ventura) or later
1. Open System Settings: Click the Apple logo and select System Settings.
2. Go to Privacy & Security: Click Privacy & Security in the sidebar (you may need to scroll down).
3. Select Automation: On the right, click Automation.
4. Allow Workpuls: Find Workpuls in the list and turn on its access to each browser listed under it.


​macOS 11 or 12
1. Open System Preferences: Click the Apple logo and select System Preferences.
2. Go to Security & Privacy: Click Security & Privacy, then click the Privacy tab.
3. Unlock Settings: Click the lock in the bottom-left corner and enter your administrator name and password.
4. Select Automation: In the list on the left, click Automation.
5. Allow Workpuls: Under Workpuls, select the checkbox next to each browser.

Screenshots and Screen Recording Permissions

This permission enables Insightful to capture your screen for screenshots and recordings.

Steps to enable the Screen & System Audio Recording permission

macOS 13 (Ventura) or later
1. Click the Apple logo and select System Settings.
2. Click Privacy & Security in the sidebar.
3. Select Screen & System Audio Recording: On the right, click Screen & System Audio Recording (on macOS 13 and some earlier macOS 14 updates, it’s called Screen Recording).
4. Add Workpuls: Turn on access for Workpuls in the list.
5. Confirm Changes: Close the window to save changes. Make sure to quit Insightful and reopen it again for changes to be applied.


​macOS 11 or 12
1. Click the Apple logo and select System Preferences.
2. Click Security & Privacy, then click the Privacy tab.
3. Unlock Settings: Click the lock in the bottom-left corner and enter your administrator name and password.
4. Select Screen Recording: In the list on the left, click Screen Recording.
5. Add Workpuls: Select the checkbox next to Workpuls.
6. Confirm Changes: Close the window to save changes. Make sure to quit Insightful and reopen it again for changes to be applied.

Although macOS refers to this permission as “Screen & System Audio Recording”, Insightful only uses it to capture screen visuals.
Audio (microphone or system sound) is not recorded.

Screen Recording Permission on macOS Sequoia or newer

With the release of macOS Sequoia (version 15+), users may encounter prompts to grant or renew screen recording permissions while using Insightful. These prompts arise due to Apple’s new security protocols, which limit the duration of screen recording permissions.

MacOS Sequoia requires screen recording permissions to be renewed every 30 days, even if you've previously granted permission. This change only affects screen recording permissions, and other permissions remain unaffected.

The sample dialogue below illustrates what you might expect to see:

How to Grant Permission

To continue using Insightful screen recording features, you will need to click Allow for One Month when the system prompts you. This allows screen recording for 30 days, after which re-authorization will be required.

MacOS Permissions Visibility via API

Insightful provides detailed visibility into granted MacOS permissions via API at both the user and organization levels.

If you manage many devices, see How to Handle Permissions Remotely.

Still need help? Reach out to our support team anytime at support@insightful.io.

Did this answer your question?