CSV Import feature is one of our first Directory Integrations which provides you with a simpler way to add, edit and remove Employees, Managers and Admins in bulk from your Insightful account. 👩‍💻

Configuration

This option is available to Admins only and the first step is setting up the Directory integration through CSV Import - via Settings >> Integrations Menu. After a successful setup, Admin can upload the CSV files and initiate the import.

.CSV Files Upload

Uploading of CSV files can be done either directly via Insightful Dashboard or via API. For the instructions on how to upload the CSV file via API - please refer to the instructions from the dashboard and our API documentation.

🧐Good to know: The synchronization can be done maximum once in the 12 hours period and this applies for both manual upload of CSV files and the upload through API.

Users dialog is used to manage access to the Dashboard for Admins and Managers and to allocate their scope.

Employees dialog is used to import employees and perform changes such as deactivation, transfer into the right Teams, Team creation if it doesn't exist etc.

Note: Files must be in the right format to be successfully processed; to see the correct format, please click on Download Template above the dialog - there is a Template for Users and a Template for Employees.

Both Users.csv and Employees.csv files should be uploaded at the same time, otherwise the upload cannot be initiated.

Note: When uploading the CSV files, bear in mind that data from CSV files will override current data (environment) on the dashboard.

E.g.👉 If CSV sync is done and active Admin’s email isn’t in the Users.csv file, they will lose their access to the account. Same rule applies to Employees, meaning that employees that are already on the dashboard, but not in the .csv file, will be deactivated after the successful sync.

Synchronization progress and history

After initiating the CSV files upload, you can find the synchronization progress and history on the Settings >> CSV Import >> History tab.

In case the number of changes is larger than the Approval Threshold set up in the initial configuration, Admins must review the requested changes to Approve / Reject them from the same History tab.

There are 5 possible synchronization statuses such as:

  • File Processing - the files have been uploaded and are being processed by our platform, but the synchronization is not finished yet

  • Waiting for Approval - number of structural changes within the file is larger than the Approval Threshold, so Admin approval is pending to continue the process

  • Approved by *** - the synchronization process has been completed as it was manually approved by the Admin

  • Rejected by *** - the synchronization process hasn’t been completed as it was rejected by the Admin

  • Auto-Approved - the synchronization process has been completed automatically since the number of structural changes within the file was below the Approval Threshold.

  • Error while processing - CSV files are accepted and uploaded, but error has occurred while processing data. Reason the synchronization was not processed is revealed by hovering over a tooltip.

🧐Good to know: Synchronization attempt with Error while processing status won’t count as a processed; Therefore, 12 hours threshold will not apply and user can immediately start another sync attempt.

Did this answer your question?