All Collections
FAQ
What is Idle time and how can I set up or edit it in Insightful?
What is Idle time and how can I set up or edit it in Insightful?

Learn about Idle time and where to find settings to extend or shorten trigger period for Idle time

Uros Maksimovic avatar
Written by Uros Maksimovic
Updated over a week ago

Idle time in Insightful represents the amount of time an employee was not actively working on a device. By default, Insightful is set to recognize and track Idle time after 2 minutes of constant user inactivity.

Admins can adjust the trigger period for Idle time by accessing the Tracking Settings in the application, where they can set the duration after which Insightful starts recording idle time, providing flexibility to tailor tracking settings to your organization's needs.


Idle time example​

Let's suppose an employee stops using their computer at 4:00 PM and doesn't do any mouse clicks and/or keyboard strokes until 4:20 when they start actively working on their computer again.

Insightful will detect Idle time at 4:02 (after 2 minutes of inactivity), which will, in the end, result in showing employee as Idle for 20 minutes - from the last activity at 4:00 until the next mouse click or keyboard stroke - which happened at 4:20 in this example.  

Setting up Idle time

If you wish to set up or change Idle time you can follow these few simple steps:

  1. Choose Settings on the sidebar and click on Tracking Settings to go to shared settings screen.

  2. Click on three dots button on the far right for the specific Tracking Settings for which you wish to edit Idle time.

  3. Under Tracking Time section choose the time interval after which you wish Insightful to start recording time as Idle. You can set it to 30 seconds, 1, 2, 3, 5 or 10 minutes (the default setting is 2 minutes).

  4. Save changes by clicking on the Save button in the upper right corner. 

👉 Good to know

In case your Employees spend time on Apps and Websites for which the Don't track time option is applied, the time they spent on those will be automatically logged as Idle.

However, if your Employees are using Apps and Websites that don't require constant mouse or keyboard input (Teams, Google Meet etc.) and you wish to prevent Idle time from being logged in these cases, you can enable the Always Active setting for these Apps and Websites.

Idle time, when observed in real time on the Timesheets, is subject to a short sync delay in some scenarios, especially when the user's internet connection is slower or interrupted. As a result - longer Idle time might be displayed. The sync usually doesn't last long but it depends on the severity of network difficulties users might be experiencing.

Did this answer your question?