When setting up new employee devices on Insightful, there is an option to choose between Company and Personal computers:

It's important to understand the difference between these two options, so that you both stay compliant and take advantage of the features that each version offers:

Personal Computers 👨‍💻

This version is designed to protect employee privacy. It will give them control over installing/uninstalling the software, as well as the time during which Insightful will track their activities. This option must be used if an employee is on a device that you do not own.

  1. Insightful will always be visible

  2. Insightful will only track time and activities when they explicitly clock-in/out and never after hours or when they're on break.

Available Attendance & Tracking Modes:

Setup & Activation
Employees are added via email invitation that contains a link for them to create their user password and a download link - to download and log into Insightful Widget.

Note: This option can also be used on company computers if you have multiple users sharing the same computer/user-login. This enables each user of the shared device to log in/out to begin time tracking.

Company Computers 💻

When you have company owned devices, this is the recommended mode to install. The company computer version contains additional options such as Stealth Mode, as well as more time tracking scenarios:

Setup & Activation

Employees/Devices are added automatically after installer is distributed and installed on their computers. First computer activity after successful installation will register and show them on Admin dashboards.

👉 Further Reading: Adding Employees and Devices


Have Employees Working on Both types of devices?


If you have both office and remote working employees - you can set up multiple configuration profiles in your account to use both types simultaneously.


There is no limit to the number of different configurations that you can have in Insightful.

Did this answer your question?